Offering zakat is a religious obligation for Muslims, and is the third of the five pillars of Islam (right after prayer). In Arabic, zakat means purification, growth and blessing. Paying zakat is meant to remind Muslims to be appreciative of the blessings that Allah (Subhana Wa Ta’ala) has bestowed upon them, and to help empower those who have less. There are two primary forms of zakat: zakat al-mal and zakat al-fitr.


    ICSA collects and distributes zakat to those who are most in need, in accordance with Islamic guidelines. Giving your zakat through ICSA means you can help provide emergency food, shelter for refugees, job training, medication and so much more.

    According to the Holy Qur’an (9:60), there are eight categories of people who qualify to be beneficiaries of zakat:

    • The poor
    • The needy
    • The collectors of zakat (ICSA is an example)
    • Those who hearts are to be won over
    • Captives
    • Debtors
    • A mediator or someone who pays from personal monies to fix or mediate problems among the people
    • In the cause of Allah (swt)
    • Travelers

    Most scholars agree that the poor and needy are the most important categories of people to receive zakat. Given that, it is acceptable to give your entire zakat allotment to individuals who are in those groups. You may pay your zakat directly to ICSA online or by mailing a check to our office.

    Donate Zakat-al-Mal